Silhouette Design: “rip envelope”

One of my favorite things of the Christmas season is the beautifully wrapped presents and packages. My most recent Silhouette cut file involves a step back in time to mailing a letter: the rip envelope {aka: the perforated tear-off flap envelope}.

rip envelope

Oftentimes these are used on a larger scale for mailing documents, but I’ve been using them to send my holiday cards and notes. For me, a beautifully designed package is all about the details: the paper, the hand-written type, and envelope liner… you get the idea.

But here is some inspiration on how I’ve used this design for my personal mailings.

DSC02498
I purchased a stack of 12×12 inch Everyday Kraft paper from Hobby Lobby and it works perfect as one side has a design and the other doesn’t. I just assembled the envelope so that the design was on the inside and acted as it’s own envelope liner! So pretty, don’t you think?
DSC02499
Rather than placing the return address on the front, I hand-wrote it on the back flap, leaving more room to illustrate the address on the front.
DSC02497
Leave a Reply

